New album from Ryukyu Underground on April 15


It’s hard to believe that Ryukyu Underground’s last album was released three years ago so it’s great news to hear about their new release for 2009, “Umui,” which will be the duo’s 4th album. Ryukyu Underground features a mixture sounds of Dub, Hip Hop, Afro Beat, and Lounge, to create a club sound out of traditional and new Okinawan songs. “Umui” (omoi in Japanese) will have a total of 10 tracks and feature guest musicians (and frequent contributors) Toru Yonaha, Mika Uchizato, Ayano Uema, Natsuki Nakamura, and Mitsuko Nagado. The group’s albums can be sampled and purchased on iTunes (link opens iTunes).

(via Campus Record Staff blog.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s